What Is a Chakra?

Learn what chakras are and understand the seven main varieties.

The concept of a chakra may seem a bit abstract, but with a little understanding you can use knowledge of the chakras to help heal different areas of the body.

Chakras are energy centers throughout the body. The word chakra means wheel. Ancient seers in India, called rishis, noticed that there were concentrations of energy in specific areas of the body. These wheels of energy are specific to areas, along the center of the spine, from the base up through to the crown of the head. Later, modern science found that the areas of the seven main chakras are actually concentrated bundles of nerves.

The seven main chakras start with the base of the spine being the first chakra. The first three or lower chakras are called chakras of matter or focus more on the physical realm. The four upper chakras, starting at the heart center, focus more on the spiritual realm.

The 1st Chakra: Muladhara

Located at the base of the spine, this chakra is responsible for basic needs, including security and money.

The 2nd Chakra: Svadhisthana

Located above the pubic bone and below the navel, the second chakra is called the “creativity and sexual center”. Every creative endeavor emanates from this area.

The 3rd Chakra: Manipura

The word manipura means “lustrous gem” and the location of the third chakra is around the navel in the area of the solar plexus. This is where we feel our personal power, our will to assert ourselves and are able to manifest dreams into reality.

The 4th Chakra: Anahata

The fourth chakra is located in the heart center. This is where matter and spirit are united. Anahata is the center for love, compassion, understanding, and forgiveness.

The 5th Chakra: Vishuddha

The fifth chakra includes the throat, mouth, tongue, larynx, thyroid and parathyroid glands. This chakra is all about being able to speak your truth and communicate effectively and without fear.

The 6th Chakra: Ajna

The sixth chakra is also referred to as the “third eye” chakra. This is our center of intuition, psychic abilities, and is our opening to higher spiritual connection.

The 7th Chakra: Sahaswara

The seventh chakra is called the “thousand-petal lotus” and is our source of enlightenment and spiritual connection to the Divine. It’s located at the crown of the head.

Ways of Healing Blockages in the Chakras

Knowing the seven main chakras is the beginning. Bringing awareness to these chakras can help you to open and align them so energy can flow freely. There are many different ways you can actively heal blockages in each of the chakras. Yoga poses, meditation and visualization, gems and precious stones, color therapy and proper nutrition are all ways of healing. In subsequent articles, we will go through each of the chakras in depth and explore ways to heal each one.


31 Questions to Find Out if You're Psychic >>

Psychic Readings

Finding the right psychic to conduct your reading is no small matter. We make choosing an authentic, gifted advisor a fun experience. Review the Types of Psychic Readings and the Types of Psychics to help you decide which advisor and type of reading is most suitable for you.

As the most widely known and respected psychic service in the industry, Psychic Source has been committed to delivering the most authentic readings to it's customers via phone and/or online chat.

Talk to a Psychic Advisor Now